The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) is the second-largest school district in the nation and the largest with an elected school board. The District covers 710 square miles. This includes most of the city of Los Angeles, along with all or portions of 26 cities and unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County. About 4.8 million people live within the District’s boundaries.

LAUSD enrolls nearly 650,000 students in Kindergarten through 12th grade with approximately 1,300 schools and education centers serving families in and around Los Angeles. Click here to download a map of the District. 

About the Superintendent

 
king-official-headshot.jpg

Michelle King

As the Superintendent of Schools for the Los Angeles Unified School District. Superintendent King is responsible for creating policy, making recommendations to the members of the Los Angeles Board of Education and managing the day-to-day operations of the District.

Superintendent of Schools

michelle.king@lausd.net

LAUSD Board of Education

 
BD2 Garcia.jpg

Board District 2: covers most of Central LA and parts of East LA

Monica Garcia

Board President

monica.garcia@lausd.net

Chief of Staff: Lizette Patron

lizette.patron@lausd.net

Term ends December 11, 2022


BD4 Melvoin.png

Board District 4: covers most of the west side of Los Angeles

Nick Melvoin

Board Vice President

nicholas.melvoin@lausd.net

Chief of Staff: Sarah Angel

sarah.angel@lausd.net

Term ends December 11, 2022


Board District 1: covers most of South Los Angeles

Dr. George McKenna

george.mckenna@lausd.net

Chief of Staff: Sharon V. Robinson

sharon.v.robinson@lausd.net

Term ends December 13, 2020


BD3 Schmerelson.jpg

Board District 3: covers most of the West San Fernando Valley

Scott Schmerelson

scott.schmerelson@lausd.net

Chief of Staff: Arlene Irlando

arlene.irlando@lausd.net

Term ends December 13, 2020


Board District 5: covers northeast Los Angeles and southeast Los Angeles

Dr. Ref Rodriguez

ref.rodriguez@lausd.net

Chief of Staff: Aixle Aman

aixle.aman@lausd.net

Term ends December 13, 2020


Board District 6: covers the East San Fernando Valley

Kelly Gonez

kelly.gonez@lausd.net

Chief of Staff: Megan Vandenbos

megan.vandenbos@lausd.net

Term ends December 11, 2022


Board District 7: covers parts of South Los Angeles south to San Pedro

Dr. Richard Vladovic

richard.vladovic@lausd.net

Chief of Staff: Chris Torres

chris.torres@lausd.net

Term ends December 13, 2020


Organizational Chart for LAUSD

Below are two organizational charts that show key LAUSD leadership and staff. Click here or the button below to contact a LAUSD office or department.

Board of Education and LAUSD Leadership

LAUSD Leadership and Key Staff